PIKTO – The Art of Connecting Through Portraiture – V. Tony Hauser

Today I had the pleasure of participating in “The Art of Connecting Through Portraiture” workshop organized by PIKTO and led by internationally exhibited portrait photographer V. Tony Hauser. The workshop provided an excellent learning experience and was well worth attending.  Although much of the learning came from the workshop leader, individual discussion with the twelve other participants and working with them on the exercises contributed to the learning experience.

The exercises involved taking portraits of individuals, couples and family groups where the participants had the opportunity to be both the subjects and the photographer. My apologies to my wife and two daughters, as I needed a new wife and adopted two daughters and a son to participate in the exercises.

Our homework for the workshop involved selecting some of our best portraits to share with the group. I was pleased I received the best feedback on Julie’s maternity shot and Julie’s backlit profile shot and a special thanks goes to Julie for making it possible for me to attend the workshop. I also received excellent feedback on Jody’s black and white portrait and one of her candle light portraits.

One of the purposes of this blog article is to enable sharing shots taken during the workshop among workshop participants. For example, I would like to see some of the pictures I was in. To facilitate that I created a Flickr (public, invitation only) group “PIKTO October 20 Portrait Workshop”  ( http://www.flickr.com/groups/pikto_portrait_workshop/ ) This group can also be used to facilitate discussion among workshop participants.  Please ask to join this group so you can upload your pictures to it and download the ones you want.

The photo shown below is a group shot of the workshop participants taken just outside the Toronto Distillery District.

DSC_1379

Workshop participants, please acknowledge you have seen this article by commenting on it. I promoted the article on my Bill’s Photography Facebook page. Please visit it and like it if you have a spare moment.

Return to Bill’s Photography web site

This entry was posted in My Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to PIKTO – The Art of Connecting Through Portraiture – V. Tony Hauser

  1. Marcia Forsyth says:

    Great review Bill! Thanks so much for sharing it with us. It really was a wonderful workshop with a very enthusiastic and supportive group of people and an inspiring/world class photographer!! Marcia

  2. Julie Mundle says:

    I am very Happy to be able to help you in something you love ! I used to hate having my picture taken as they always turned out terrible and you showed me that with a little patents and change in lights or expressions they can be beautiful! Thank you for taking my life story and making memories ! you are a fantastic Photographer

    • Thank you Julie for your comment. I always appreciate feedback on my work from other photographers but I appreciate even more the comments from the people I have photographed. My ultimate goal in taking a photograph is to capture the beauty and character of the person whom I am photographing such that it pleases them. I am happy that I have been able to do that for you. Photographing you has been a rewarding experience, watching you become relaxed and comfortable in front of the camera so we get better pictures and incorporating your suggestions on how we can improve the pictures. You are truly a beautiful young woman, in appearance and in character and we have the pictures to prove it. I am pleased that I have been able to help make your memories more memorable by providing pictures of important events in your life.

Leave a Reply

