Maternity Silhouettes / Profiles

Silhouettes can make for very effective photos and  are quite frequently used in maternity photography to highlight the significant changes which take place during a pregnancy.  I have had the pleasure of working with Julie to document two pregnancies and I wanted to share some pictures from a recent photo session.  I initially thought they were all silhouettes but after doing a Google search I found “a silhouette is defined as a view of an object or a scene consisting of the outline and a featureless interior, with the silhouetted object usually being black” so I guess they are not all technically silhouettes. The fourth image certainly is a silhouette but I guess we’ll have to call the others backlit profile shots. Although not technically silhouettes, I believe they are equally dramatic and effective.  I would appreciate your thoughts. Thank you Julie for your patience as we experimented to create these shots and for letting me share them.  We wish you and your baby a safe and healthy pregnancy as you pass the 18 week mark. Please check out Julie’s Gallery on Bill’s Photography web site for additional photos and more maternity shots to be added soon.

Juliesilhouettes

Return to Bill’s Photography web site

This entry was posted in My Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Maternity Silhouettes / Profiles

  1. Julie Mundle says:

    Love the collage first time seeing it!

Leave a Reply

