Portraits by Candle Light

Electronic flashes and studio lighting are certainly good pieces of equipment to have as a photographer, but I think there is something special about photos taken in candle light. Taking candle light portraits is not without its challenges but I think the results make the effort worthwhile.  I was pleased with some candle light portraits of Jasmine I took some time ago so I looked for some volunteers to try some more. I have included a picture I took of Julie below and you can see some more shots from that session in my Julie by Candle Light set on Flickr. I should note that a few of the photos involved an on camera flash with a rust or salmon gel placed over the flash. I think I like the pure candle light shots better but I would like to experiment more with an off camera flash with a gel. If you want to try some of these yourself Google search will provide lots of resource material and I have included a couple of links below.

DSC_8357

Return to Bill’s Photography Web Site

This entry was posted in My Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

