Flickr 100 Strangers Project (Lindsay) and iPhoneography

It is my pleasure to introduce you to Lindsay, a dental assistant at my wife’s orthodontist. I have been negligent recently in not contributing to my  Flickr 100 strangers project, but while waiting for my wife at the orthodontist, I thought Lindsay would be an excellent candidate for the project. There were only two challenges to overcome; (1) Lindsay was very busy and (2) I did not have my camera with me. I have been very impressed with the pictures I have been getting with my iPhone 5 but I had not yet used it for a portrait shot, so I thought this was a good opportunity. I explained the 100 strangers project to Lindsay, who was familiar with Flickr, and with her permission took a couple of quick shots, so as to not interrupt her work.  Thank you Lindsay for agreeing to help me with my photography project, I hope you are pleased with your photo. As it was not taken under the best of conditions and certainly not with my best equipment, I would be pleased to take some more professional shots when it is more convenient for you.

Observations:

From a technical perspective the iPhone took a reasonable photo, but even though I didn’t use flash, some areas of the photo were over exposed to the extent that I was not able to correct them as much as I would have liked in post processing. The Nikon D800 raw files do provide more editing flexibility. I do believe, however, it captured her cheerful smile and personality and for that I am thankful.

This picture is the 53rd portrait in my efforts to complete the required 100 portraits for the portraits of strangers project to help improve my photography skills. Here is a link to her picture on Flickr. 

Stranger # 53 of 100 - Lindsay

Back to Bill’s Photography web site.

This entry was posted in My Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

