People Really Add to My Enjoyment of Photography # 2 – Jody

I just finished my last article on the benefits of sharing photos on Facebook when I came across the Facebook post displayed below. I took the photo but it was Jody, the person in the picture who posted it as her profile picture. I consider it a real compliment when I see pictures I have taken being shared on Facebook and I thank all who have done that. What is even more complementary was Jody’s comment about taking the pictures “It was fun.”  Let me tell you about this photo session to explain why her comment is meaningful to me.

Jody is a friend of my wife and myself. When talking about photography, she, like many others, commented that she did not like having her picture taken. I pursued that thought and found it was not the picture taking process so much as the resulting photos that she was not entirely happy with. I asked if I might try to take some photos she would be happy with and after a few more conversations and a few weeks she thought she might be willing to try.

Some of the factors I believe contribute to a successful photo session are:

  • Knowing in advance the type of photos you want to produce (Pinterest is a very useful tool for that)
  • Selecting  a suitable location
  • Providing ongoing feedback to the subject during the photo shoot by reviewing and critiquing the pictures in the camera
  • And possibly most important of all – having a happy relaxed subject who is willing to take a risk and have fun

Jody, our subject in this picture is currently very busy with studies so I don’t expect a quick reply, but I would really like to hear from her about what made the photo session fun and what made her happy with the resulting photos. I’d also appreciate thoughts from other folks and photographers.

Here is a link to a few more pictures from Jody’s photo shoot

Return to Bill’s Photography Web Site

This entry was posted in My Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to People Really Add to My Enjoyment of Photography # 2 – Jody

  1. Jody Myers says:

    Bill it was a great evening despite the fact I was a little apprehensive about the whole thing as you know. The fact that you had faith that a good picture was possible is what pushed me out of my comfort zone and go through with it. I don’t know at what point I began to relax but your positive feedback through the whole process allowed me to begin to see myself through your eyes. You were able to capture something of my self as my brother commented on one of the pictures that when he saw it, he saw the little girl in me. Thanks again for the experience.

    • Thank you so much Jody. Your feedback helps me better understand what I can do as a photographer to contribute to a relaxing fun experience. I hope it can also help others who may be apprehensive, step out of their comfort zone and give it a try. I really liked your brother’s comment about seeing the little girl in you. I did not see that myself, but your brother has the advantage of knowing you as a little girl. I did, however, see a good picture, hoped I had sufficient skill to capture what I saw and I was pleased with the result. Just remember, you have a standing offer for another session for you and or your family when there is a break in your studies and you want to have fun again.

  2. Pingback: People Really Add to My Enjoyment of Photography # 3 – Stefan « Bill's Photography

  3. Pingback: People Really Add to My Enjoyment of Photography # 5 – Julie « Bill's Photography

Leave a Reply

